Ledig-Rowohlt Foundation and Its Mission


The Château de Lavigny International Writers’ Residence was founded by the late Jane Rowohlt in memory of her husband, the German publisher, Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt. Her wish was to bequeath their home, the Château de Lavigny, for a writers’ residence offering and fostering “a spirit of international community and creativity.”

A small, dedicated international committee of writers and administrators agreed to serve as volunteers to create this institution, including Anna Bourgeois, Fawzia Assaad, Françoise Muller, Susan Tiberghien and Wallis Wilde-Menozzi. They worked together to bring the first group of residents in 1996. Since then, the Château de Lavigny has welcomed some 500 writers.

While Ledig-Rowohlt published Albert Camus, William Faulkner, Ernest Hemingway, Günther Grass, Vladimir Nabokov, John Updike, Harold Pinter, Jean-Paul Sartre, and many other key twentieth century writers, he always looked for new voices. In that spirit, the Residence encourages emerging writers as well as established ones to apply. It looks for writers interested in exchanging their ideas as well as concentrating on their own work.


Board of Directors
Olivier Bourgeois, (President)            Francis Greenburger   
Axel Röhm Pierre-Alain Tâche
Olivier Weniger  


Steering Committee
Anna Bourgeois (Coordinatrice) Fawzia Assaad   
Ghislaine Dunant Ellen Hinsey
Françoise Muller Lang-Hoan Pham
Château de Lavigny Manager: Sophie Kandaouroff